Tuesday, July 17, 2007
Quick Lessons in What We Learned from E3
We learned that Sony might, just might have learned a lesson.
We learned that Nintendo is no longer interested in courting the hardcore. We also learned that they are very interested in tooting their own horn. Which is due them. They are very successful.
We learned that game journalists don't like walking all over Santa Monica.
We learned that Microsoft is going to own this holiday.
We learned that the killer app of the convention belonged to Hannah Montana.
We learned that Littlebigplanet is going to bring together people in completely new ways. We also learned that it is indescribably cute.
We learned that 1408 is actually a great movie. I mean, that's what I did during E3 this year. Maybe next year I'll get a press pass and invite.
We learned that the Wii will turn into a "Smash Bros. machine", as finnagan calls it, on December 3rd.
We learned that Rock Band will probably be able to take Guitar Hero 3 in a battle of Weezer supremacy.
We learned that Fallout 3 is gonna be awesome. Well, duh.
We learned that Mass Effect is the game that will break me and force me to buy a 360.
All in all, sort of quiet. Not a lot of big announcements or proclamations. Let's wait and see what happens at TGS.
What did finnagan learn after E3?
"Snoop Dogg's a hack who steals his music from classic games."
Thursday, July 5, 2007
The Return!
I wanted to make sure I got the site back up and running before E3, so here we go. With all the news buzzing around, from a possible PS3 price drop to Brawl not being playable at E3, I figured now would be the perfect time to come in and drop a little knowledge on yas.
But, today, the title is talking about more than just Hyper Critical's massive return to the internet.
We're talking about the game that has the potential to be the biggest non-Prince related game out there. We're talking about GTA IV.
I've actually never been a big GTA fan. My dad has always been a bigger fan than I have. He's played III, Vice City and San Andreas to death. This is the first one in a long time that I've been interested in playing because of the style. I mean, have you seen the first two trailers? This game has potential to be a watershed game. Something that is artistic while still being a huge commercial success. GTA IV gives Rockstar and Take Two so much cache, that it could even effect the Manhunt debacle. But that's a story for another day.
As N'Gai Croal points out, GTA IV looks like a Cronenberg movie. Will this be the game that can start a tide to change public opinion of games, from simple toys to involved narratives with deep and interesting gameplay? We'll see, but I feel good about it. We're eventually going to get to a day where people can't deny the artistic value of games. Every Bioshock, GTA IV and Twilight Princess that comes out puts one more chink in their armor.
Next time, theoretically, we'll discuss the Manhunt/AO situation and how GTA IV could effect it.
Friday, May 25, 2007
ATTENTION!
Regular posting will return soon, as there is internet in my apartment. I live in the stone age, though, and must install a wireless card on my clunky desktop. Sorry...I've just always been more of a fan of the hard ethernet cable.
To tide you over until then, I reference a post I found on Kotaku.
Gyakuten Saiban 3 is coming stateside in September, obviously meant to coincide with my birthday. But, even cooler, as with the last DS iteration, it's got the option to play in English right off the bat in the import version! I actually still haven't beaten Justice For All, (Get off my back, I've got Pokemans to deal with!) but Phoenix Wright is one of my favorite franchises in games today. I'm saddened to know that the next one doesn't feature Phoenix and his colorful cast of characters as the star...
Tuesday, May 22, 2007
The Lost Blog
I miss you all. Kisses.
Thursday, May 10, 2007
On the road again...
Once again, apologies for the sporadic postings. It's been a rough week. I won't bore you with the details, but I did have two auditions I had to get prepared for this week, not to mention getting ready for my big move to North Carolina for the summer. If anyone is a fan of the blog and happens to see my show, come up after and tell me so. I'll be amazed.
Until I'm able to get regular internet access, I leave the blog in the very capable hands of finnagan. He'll be your daddy until I get back.
But I will be back and will toss up postings when I get the chance.
See you on the other side.
Sunday, May 6, 2007
Saturday, May 5, 2007
The 10 Point Scale
This story seems to be getting some play . The idea of a ten point scale as a way of judging videogames has gotten out of whack over the years, to the point where anything below a 7.5 for a Mario title is blasphemy. Well, Stephen Totilo put himself to the test a while back, and created his own ten point scale as a point of reference. It was first pointed out to me by Guy over at IP. He's actually putting together a column about it. I submitted my ten point scale, but thought that it would be a waste to not share it with you. So, without further adieu...my ten point scale.
10 -
Resident Evil 4 (NGC) - In my mind, the best marriage of storytelling and gameplay of the last generation.
Civilization 3 (PC) - The single most addictive game I've ever played in my life. Endlessly replayable, with endless stories to tell.
9 -
Super Smash Bros. Melee (NGC) - The ultimate party game. Pick up and play at its finest. Though, it rewards judicious study.
Suikoden III (PS2) - A tale told through several perspectives, along with a huge cast of colorful characters. My favorite RPG.
8 -
Hotel Dusk: Room 215 (NDS) - A deep, involving tale, using all of the best features of the console to enhance the story.
Tony Hawk Pro Skater 4 (PS2) - The best soundtrack. One of the finest tuned games around. The great franchise. It's just solid, solid, solid.
7 -
NBA Jam (SNES) - The first one. A basketball game for everyone with off the chart fun.
Sam and Max: Hit the Road (PC) - One of my favorite games of all time. It's a shame it can be completed in less than an hour.
6 -
Blitz: The League (XBX) - A gritty look at football with so much promise. Unfortunately, the characters were ugly, even for the time, and the AI plays cheap catch-up.
Wario Ware: Mega Microgame$ (GBA) - A wonderful collection of addictive microgames. Only problem is, there's not much more than a few minutes of gameplay per turn.
5 -
WWF Smackdown (PS1) - The inferior cousin of the AKI games, Smackdown's control system felt so loose as to be almost unplayable to me. But, the character creation was solid at the time and enjoyable matches could be had.
SimCity (PC) - Yes, I know it's a classic but...there's just no point to it. Build a city...then what?
4 -
Silent Hill 4: The Room (PS2) - Arguably, the finest premise of any of the Silent Hills. "You're trapped in a room and can't get out." Then, what's the first thing they do? You crawl through an extradimensional slip out of the room...
Suikoden IV (PS2) - The only interesting part of this game involved the quest for Ted, the original bearer of the Soul Eater rune from the first game. So, if this was the first Suikoden you picked up, I am very sorry for wasting your time.
3 -
Superman Returns (360) - Slightly better than the movie.
Dead or Alive III (XBX) - The most boring fighting game I've ever played. Plus, I have no love for the characters, so I'm not beholden to love them like some are.
2 -
Final Fantasy VII (PS1) - Cutting edge at the time, but looks like a bum's asshole today. Not to mention the asinine ending and mediocre characters.
Spiderman: Maximum Carnage (SNES) - I wanted this so badly when it came out, as it came out on my birthday and I was a big comic book nerd. I played through it, out of duty, but I look back now and know that, without the IP and cool red cartridge, it's just a substandard beat 'em up. If there's one thing I hate in game design, it's laziness. Maximum Carnage reeks of laziness.
1 -
Xenogears (PS1) - Mind bogglingly stupid. I mean, granted, I guess the idea of beating up mechs with one's fists is cool, but the supposed "depth" of this game doesn't measure up, in any way, to the amount of gameplay provided and certainly doesn't measure up to the paltry story.
Mario Party 3 (N64) - What a waste of a game. Even if you happen to be great at Mario Party's minigames, chances are Bowser is going to show up and take all of your stars anyway. An affront to anyone who has ever played a board game and the only game I ever put down and said, "I will never play this again."
Agree? Disagree? Have your own ten point scale? Let's hear it.
We have nothing better to do than answer your e-mails!